Fred Phelps Sr.: Is he in Heaven or Hell?

Posted: March 21, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

ImageRecently, Fred Phelps Sr., Founder and pastor of Westboro Baptist Church in Kansas passed away. When I first heard about this, I thought, “Good Riddance!”. This man was responsible for the numerous protests at veteran funerals and spreading hate about homosexuals. I had mentioned in a previous post on this site how I abhored what Westboro Baptist was doing and that they were not Christian in their actions. Then I heard from a local radio Talk show host Lars Larson yesterday and he posted this question: Is Fred Phelps going to Heaven or Hell?

It gave me pause to reflect on all this and even consider my own sinful life. Are we not all equally guilty of doing something sinful in this world? Much as I loathe what Fred Phelps instigated in his Anti-homosexual rhetoric, I couldn’t help but hope that he was in Heaven, standing before the Almighty and seeing how wrong he was.

I mean, my bible does say that Homosexuality is a sin; an abomination in fact (Leviticus 18:22, 20:13); but, Jesus also taught us to love our neighbor and fellow man as we loved ourselves (John 13:34-35, 15:12,17). Sure we should hate sin, but don’t hate the sinner along with it. 

Does this mean we should tolerate people who are homosexual? Yes, but consider this. Jesus himself said to those that were ready to stone a woman for adultery, “Let he who is without sin, cast the first stone.” People choose whether they want to sin or not, and we should not condemn them, for in their pride they will become stubborn and hard-hearted towards the Gospel. We as believers choose to follow Christ out of love and faith, and that same love and faith should be exercised in people who either don’t agree with us or hate us for it. Does God hate homosexuals? (I refuses to use the word they use…), to be honest, I can’t speak for God, but if I know him from his word, he loves homosexuals, just like he loves the rest of us. 

If God died for the likes of Adolf Hitler, Osama Bin Laden, and even Fred Phelps, then he can love sinners of all kinds as well.

My answer for Lars Larson is this: I do not know where Fred Phelps is now, only that he has met with his God and I leave it in his capable hands.

Comments
  1. cyberprophet says:

    I just happened to find Lars Larson’s website and saw the results of that poll I mentioned:

    87% say he’s in hell, 13% say he’s in heaven…

  2. All I can think is Jesus writing on the sand and each stone we hold finally drops from our hands and walk away. Only God knows

Leave a Reply

